Catholic Archdiocese of Hobart
Circa Morris Nunn
The new 4 storey St Mary’s Cathedral Meeting Place, which is connected to the western side of the original cathedral, incorporates a crypt in the basement and three other levels providing meeting spaces, offices and toilets.
The project is part of a wider initiative to restore and complete the cathedral, which opened in 1866.
The top floor of the building incorporates a new 90-seat performance space with a unique timber lined domed ceiling.
WT has provided quantity surveying services for both the construction of the Meeting place and the wider restoration works.
The Meeting Place received the 2013 Alexander North Award for Interior Architecture from the Australian Institute of Architects.